Some news from LibraryLand

It’s been ages since I’ve posted here, I don’t even know if I have any readers left.  HI!!

Since we last met, a lot has happened in my librarian life. I am now a full time cataloger. Yes, overnight, my job title was changed from p/t children’s and p/t cataloging librarian to full time cataloger. The details are not important to this blog. ‘Nuff said.

Also, I recently was honored as the recipient of a fellowship at the University of Florida, studying antique children’s books in their special collection. The Louise Seaman Bechtel fellowship is a month long endeavor sponsored by ALSC, the Association for Library Services to Children, a division of the American Library Association. The award is for librarians with 8 or more years of service to children. I could not be more thrilled. Nope, not a clue when I’m going, still waiting for a contact from ALSC to talk to the folks at Florida.

I have a lot less time to keep abreast of library trends since I no longer watch a desk two to three hours a day, so I’ve started sending my American Library emails to my home email. The rest of this email is catching up on the most interesting articles from the February 7 issue.  Yes, I know the news is therefore a bit stale. I used to read this voraciously from “cover to cover” on Wednesday when it came out.  I hope to get there eventually, but for now, I’m going to catch up as I can.

My first ever library director, Cynthia Richey, director of the Mt. Lebanon Library, was recently honored by ALSC as well. She was given their “Distinguished Service Award.” She has certainly done a lot over the years for libraries and advocacy. Bravo, Cynthia!

Do you remember Danny and the Dinosaur? Syd Hoff died in 2004, may he rest in peace. But his house in Florida was recently designated a “Literary Landmark” by United for Libraries.

Brooke Sheldon, a library educator (who got her PhD from Pitt, where I obtained my Master’s degree), recently passed away. She was a big advocate of minority hiring. I read about her death first in JESSE, a list-serv for library educators, and then again here, in the AL email.  I wish I had had the chance to meet her, but celebrating her life will have to suffice.

In this opinion piece, David Rothman makes a case for folks in the Warren Buffet and Bill Gates income bracket to support digital libraries financially.  An interesting piece, since digital librarianship runs the gamut from actual digital libraries to purchasing ebooks.

Thanks for reading, and I promise to try to show up here more often.

 

 

Leave a Reply

