Catalog race…19 problem books in 1 hr!

Saturdays have become (or always have been?) the day of the week when I deal with problem books. Last week it was catalog records. This week it was checking books that were either cataloged by other libraries, or needed to be imported because of one or another issue.

Stick a fork in me, I’m DONE!

So here are the five books I put aside to look at further:

Beyond the family tree: a book you can use to get the interview process going with relatives if you are trying to do an oral history…questions, forms, colorful typography, cool design…what more can you ask for? A bargain at $15.95.

The dragonfly effect: quick, effective, and powerful ways to use social media to drive social change. So this is how you leverage Facebook or Twitter or [your favorite social network] to start a blood drive, or something bigger. Bonus: I just found out Mark Z. (of Facebook) has a sister, Randi, who does PR for FB. There you go.

50 modern artists you should know. I am a sucker for any book of artists. For two seconds my freshman year of college, I considered being an art history major. Folks that are household names (Van Gogh, Monet, O’Keefe, Pollack) are in here, side by side with folks I’d never heard of (Moore, Twombly, Barney, Beuys.) This is not a book to give to your art history major, as the book is a QUICK intro, but if you’re a “wanna be” like me, it gives you enough that you’ll want more. And I learned in the glossary the actual meaning of “installation art”: installations are three-dimensional works of art. Well, I sort of knew that, but now I know the actual definition. YAY!

Deanna Favre (yes, Brett’s wife) wrote a book! With a guy whose last name is also the name of an Ivy League school, Shane Stanford. The Cure for the Chronic Life: overcoming the hopelessness that holds you back actually looks a lot less hokey than most of the books you find in the 248. 4’s (Christian life and practice) in most public libraries. Looks to be a 40 day guide, so maybe something good for Lent. Any book that uses a book called “Mad Church Disease” as an example of how we are screwed up about how we think about church can’t be bad. It looks like the sort of book Anne Lamott might like.

And this one, it was painful to not explore, as I am such a patient. The empowered patient: how to get the right diagnosis, buy the cheapest drugs, beat your insurance company, and get the best medical care every time. How can you not love a book where the first chapter is “How to be a ‘bad patient.'” (As in, question your doctor.) The second chapter is how to fire your bad doctor after you’ve found “Dr. Right.”

And the book that was the hardest to put aside, that I broke down and looked at a little bit: Masters: Collage. Collage is one of my favorite hobbies. ‘Nuff said.

And now, my dear ones, it is time to turn off the computers, head on out to enjoy the wonderful weather I understand we had all day. (Darn those windowless cataloging offices!)

Leave a Reply

