“When I have a little money, I buy books. If any is left over, I buy food and clothes.” ~ Erasmus

A meme! A meme! Do you want to play? Tag, you’re it.

  1. Which book that’s been on your shelves the longest? Little Women–I got it as a gift for Christmas when I was in 2nd grade.
  2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next? I’ve been watching a lot of movies lately, but right now I’m re-reading Daring Chloe. I hope to have the nerves to read Astrid and Veronika, which is not the best book to read when you’re in a funk.
  3. What book did everyone like and you hated? (Or the other way around?) I loved The Poisonwood Bible. Everyone in my book club hated it.
  4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t? Moby Dick.
  5. Which book are you saving for “retirement?” Book? You mean books. I’m still compiling the list.
  6. Last page: read it first or wait til the end? If the book is a thriller or a John Grisham, I will often flip to the back just to make sure the bad guys got it and the hero survived.
  7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside? I like dedications. (“Once again, to Zelda”) I think acknowledgements should be mailed to the folks on the list.
  8. Which book character would you switch places with? Wow. That’s a hard one. Mrs. Piggle Wiggle maybe. She was so wise, always had the answer.
  9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)? Most books have memories atttached to them–for instance, Seventeen against the dealer by Cynthia Voigt reminds me of studying for finals my freshman year of college. Jackaroo (also by C.V.) reminds me of a telephone conversation I once had about snow.
  10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way. I mailed a copy of a Frances book to a blog friend, and she was so grateful, she mailed me the extended audio of Jacob Have I loved, one of my all time favorites.
  11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person? I once gave away my copy of The Mer-man (which I have never since found) to a friend as a going away present when I was in 2nd or 3rd grade.
  12. Which book has been with you to the most places? Besides my Bible (in many versions but mostly my tattered RSV which I got for joining the church in 8th grade), Dicey’s Song by Cynthia Voigt. It feeds me.
  13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad ten years later? I haven’t dared to try any.
  14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book? myself.
  15. Used or brand new? Both. Any. I’m more interested in the content than the newness, but it can’t smell like a wet basement.
  16. Stephen King: Literary genius or opiate of the masses? I don’t think I’ve ever read any of his books. I’ve heard his book on writing is excellent, though.
  17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book? Many many movies are better than the book, and/or illuminate something that can’t be seen on the page. Often I like both.
  18. Conversely, which book should NEVER have been introduced to celluloid? I keep a pretty open mind. I can generally find *something* redeeming in the movie version, even if I don’t like it in its entirety.
  19. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take? I don’t have a fail safe book advisor besides myself at the moment.

I got this from Book Group Buzz.

What are your answers?

2 responses to ““When I have a little money, I buy books. If any is left over, I buy food and clothes.” ~ Erasmus

  1. Hi. I just stumbled onto this article. I am also a book fanatic – mind if I play??

    1) Hawaii, by James Michener. I have had a beat up paperback version of this book since around 1980 – my mom gave it to me after having it on her shelf since around 1965. I have read it three times – perhaps my alltime favorite novel

    2) I am currently reading volume 2 of The History of the Inquisition of Spain by Henry Charles Lea. I will probably read volume 3 when I am finished. I love archive.org for free older books like these. My last finished book was Experience, Reason adn Faith: A Survey in Philosophy and Religion by Eugene Bewkes, which was excellent.

    3) I loathed Blue Like Jazz which everyone recommended to me. I also hated The Shack, but not everyone liked that one as much.

    4) Gibbon’s History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. I have read Moby Dick, and you ain’t missing much (IMO).

    5) I do not save books for later – but I do have a wish list of books I cannot afford.

    6) I never read the end first.

    7) Waste of ink. When I wrote and defended my thesis, my awknowledgment page was only two sentences long – basically, ‘Thank you to all who helped me. You know who you are’.

    8) Moses. Does that count?

    9) The lampost in The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe always reminds me of a special place I once knew of.

    10) nothing interesting.

    11) I have given away lots of books to friends – I think the latest was Friedman’s ‘The Bible with Sources Revealed’ to a friend who wanted to learn more about the documentary hypothesis.

    12) A tossup between my first bible (A tattered King James Thompson Chain Reference), my beat up freshman physics book, and a mangled Random House dictionary.

    13) The Bible.

    14) I picked up a used copy of Barrows’ ‘History of the Philippines’ published in 1905 for a steal – 5 bucks. Inside were copious notes that I thought marred the text until I read them and discovered they were handwritten by the author himself!!!!

    15) Mostly used since I am on a budget. Most of my reading is older books, and I have read many books from archive.org

    16) Last book I read from King was IT, and that was nearly 25 years ago. I don’t think I would like him now as much as I did when I was younger.

    17) 2001 – A Boring Odyssey. You think the movie is slow? Try reading (the otherwise brilliant) Arthur Clarke’s novelization of it.

    18) Number one on that list is the Big Hollywood production of Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. Children kings and queens fighting battles with mythical creatures fits better in the child’s imagination than on the big screen.

    19) I have followed great advice I found in a book and avoided terrible advice. I just call em as I see em.

    Thanks for this chance to look down book memory lane..!!

  2. Suzi Wackerbarth

    Thanks for playing! I have not read “The Shack”–it looked a little too bizarre for me, though many have recommended it.

    My mom’s copy of Hawaii was one of the first book titles I remember. It was all in caps, but I was just learning to read, so I wondered if it was Hawall. Haven’t read it yet. Loved Michener’s Poland.

Leave a Reply

