“I would buy you a bouquet of sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”

Well folks, summer is over. Yes, it is full blown, six days into the month of September. I no longer have mothers clamoring for audio books for their road trips, or children clamoring for their summer reading club prizes…

Instead, I have teachers looking for info on Sept 11. I recommended The Man Who Walked Between the Towers, and she also took the book she had been looking for, September 11, 2001 : a simple account for children.

I almost forgot to feed the fish this morning, thankfully one of our shelvers reminded me.

Very exciting, I had a young patron (male) ask for the third book of a trilogy (I’ve already forgotten the book title) but the important part is that the book was in processing, so I called our tech service dept and they found the book, covered it, and I hand delivered it to the boy, saying “You’ll be the first person to read this copy.”

I pulled the Magic Tree House books #4 &5 off the shelf, put them on hold for the wrong patron, then for the correct patron. (Always ask for library card number! Don’t assume there is only one patron in the county named <insert name here>)

In other news, a friend of mine who used to be an academic librarian just got a job as head of reference at a public library. I’m anxious to hear how that is going–he’s excited for the change.

As we gear up for the next two months of election coverage, I recommend factcheck.org as a good resource for checking, you guessed it, facts.

They are non-partison. This is from their “About Us” page: The Annenberg Political Fact Check is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg in 1994 to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state, and federal levels.

Also, make sure you are registered at your current address. Rock the Vote has a great form that you can fill out, then print and mail to your state’s election office.  The League of Women Voters also has information on registering as well as info on absentee ballots.

Have a great weekend, and I’ll try to keep this updated more often, now that summer is over.

2 responses to ““I would buy you a bouquet of sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”

  1. oops! The quote is from Tom Hanks in “You’ve Got Mail.”

  2. I LOVE that quote.

Leave a Reply

