a project of Biblical proportions…literally

Phew! just finished bringing in the OCLC record for an audio version of the Bible, Inspired by…The Bible Experience. It has 79 discs and 1 DVD.

While copy cataloging sounds easy (you’re just bringing in records from OCLC, right?) with some complex items (like a 79 disc audio of the Bible) there is a lot of work to make sure the record conforms to your library’s standards. I like working with AV because there is a lot of detective work to find out who did the score, who did the music, is it really an ALL African American cast? Some of that information will be in some records, but sometimes you have to watch the beginning of a DVD to catch some of the more esoteric information.

I had to add some and edit some 500 notes. (In MARC a 500 note can be general information or more specialized. A 546 note lists language(s) (or close captioning for a video); 586 if it won an award–it did–the 2007 Audio Book of the Year; 511 for cast; 508 for production. I couldn’t find anywhere that the Prague Philharmonic performed the music, though I thought I saw it in a blip on the “making of” portion of the DVD. My boss just found the PP listed in notes on Amazon but we both agree the record has enough information. (After we import items that have had a lot of changes, we have a colleague spot check it for errors.)  I changed the wording in the 538 (systems requirements) field. I had to figure out why the 130 (Uniform Title) wouldn’t “control.” Oh. If it’s the New International Version, leave out the word “Version.” That took a lot of trial and error…

Thankfully I had printed the work I did yesterday, because I inadvertently had not saved it!!

And the DDC # is 220, no decimal, because it is just The Bible. (It would be 221-229 if it was NT, OT, or other subdivisions.

Last night I was talking to my pastor and he actually knows a couple people that own this audio and really like it. My boss was just reading to me from the Amazon review: Denzel Washington and his wife collaborated on the Song of Solomon.

Leave a Reply

