Hide and seek with pop-up books

Yellow Square, the latest pop-up by David Carter, is not just for kids. (And if you have young kids, you know that pop-ups are a challenge.)

Every page has a yellow square. In the beginning, the square is easy to find, but on the last page, you really have to look. On the back cover, Carter writes, “…my hope is to create a range of feelings and interactive visual experiences. I believe that art that creates a roller coaster of emotions is entertainment, and one of my goals as an artist is to entertain your mind. Please enjoy the ride. And please touch the art.”

Carter, whose earlier books include Fuzzy Yellow Ducklings, a book I hand sold to every grandparent looking for a fun gift back in 1995, has gone “modern.” The colors and the shapes in Yellow Square remind me of Mondrian, Alexander Calder, and Joan Miró, to name a few.

I had fun with it, but I can say in all honesty there were parts I didn’t “get” just like I sometimes don’t “get” some of the moderns listed above. This is definately a “try before you buy” book, and a “know your audience” book.

That said, I can’t wait to troll our stacks and find the earlier books in this strange series, One Red Dot, Blue 2, and 600 Black Spots.

I wonder what Sabuda’s up to this year…ah, Peter Pan is definitely a far cry from his first, the Christmas Alphabet, which came out the first Christmas I worked for Fox Books, 1994. Google is fun, here is a compendium of Sabuda books.

**************

What are your favorite pop-up books? If you are a librarian, does your library circulate pop-ups? (Ours does not.)

5 responses to “Hide and seek with pop-up books

  1. I’m the author of “The Pocket Paper Engineer, How to Make Pop-Ups Step-by-Step,” and know from first-hand experience in the classroom that kids not only like to look at pop-up books, they love to make their own! Carol Barton

  2. Suzi Wackerbarth

    I always wanted to make my own pop-ups but never did. Maybe I’ll have to check out your book. Thanks for stopping by!

    xo, Suzi

  3. Thanks for the information. My 8 year old grandaughter loves art. Would it be appropriate for her?

  4. Suzi Wackerbarth

    I would think it perfect for an eight year old, and if you could get a kid’s bio for any of the moderns listed (they’re not in the book, I just saw the correlations) you could talk about how artists are inspired by one another.

    xo, Suzi

  5. My current favorite pop-up book is
    ABC3D by Marion Bataille

    http://www.abc3dbook.com/

Leave a Reply

